Once A Cheat, Always A Cheat

There have been plenty of instances of bad sportsmanship and cheating in the history of cricket. Bodyline, Underarm, Muralitharan, etc. But one team above all others have consistently cheated in all forms of the game since I have been a cricket fan.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sport

12 Comments on “Once A Cheat, Always A Cheat”

  1. AT Says:

    You must be f@#$ing kidding.
    Doping when WADA is involved is strict liability. IE: it does not matter HOW the substance got into your body. It matters that it did. Nathan Baggaley, for a start.

    That’s completely f@#$ed. F@#$ing cricket players. Warne, the Pakis, they’re full of it. I’m not a cricket player, but I do my sport at a decent level. We have a minimum of 2 briefings a year (the ones Warne couldn’t be bothered to listen to) to tell us the sort of thing to avoid. I bet they have them in Pakistan…

  2. Saggy Green Says:

    Good. First bit of commonsence from the Pakistani board since they flicked Javed as coach. Would somebody please explain how a cricketer using steriods to aid the recovery from injury is cheating? Steriods are performance enhancing in silly linear activities like swimming and runing – how can drugs make Shoaib bowl a better outswinger? Or help Warne send down a faster flipper? I think one of the silliest things the ICC has done in recent years is to jump on the WADA bandwagon, and embrace a set of regulations that don’t apply to cricket.

  3. AT Says:

    Oi, dopey! Extract head from sphincter and read:

    With steroids, muscles recover more quickly and build more quickly, you can train more and recover from injuries more quickly. That’s precisely why steroids are performance enhancing, you drip. And that was why Warne was banned for taking a diuretic. Because it is a steroid masking agent.

    Precisely what part of that do you not understand as cheating? Pillock.

    And silly linear activities: tiger, you come and train with me in a silly linear activity and you will wish you’d never been born. I often do, and I’m GOOD at what I do.

  4. Saggy Green Says:

    AT: Please calm down. What precisely is wrong with recovering from injuries quickly? Why are the three drug cases in cricket I can think of all involving players recovering from injury?
    Are steroids performance enhancing when applied to cricket – which is to say, was Warney a better bowler for taking steroids? I don’t think so.

    Why do you wish you’d never been born? 😉

  5. yobbo Says:

    There’s no proof that Warney took steroids. He was busted for taking a diuretic which is banned because it is a masking agent.

    Is there a performance benefit in taking steroids for a fast bowler? Probably not in Shoaib or Asif’s case, it would have been for injury purposes. The point is though that they took them and deserved the ban just as Warney did, but the Pakistan Cricket Authorities are going to cheat and let them play anyway.

  6. AT Says:

    Sorry for jumping into angry mode saggy green, but drugs in sport are a major issue as far as I am concerned. One of the few things I get angry about. I hate cheats. I’d love to rocket the Pakistan Cricket Board: they’ve made a very cynical decision, which I believe is based on business reasons, to ignore the actions of two of their better (hence essential) players so that they can get them back playing faster.

    Steroids are performance enhancing: you get back from injury quicker than you would without their use. Hence you can perform more quickly than during a natural recovery. QED, they are performance enhancing. Performing is not just about faster, stronger, it’s about being able to perform at all.

    Nathan Brown (I think) made the same argument earlier this year that AFL players should be allowed to use roids to recover more quickly because they are a marketable quantity.

    In daily use, steroids would be performance enhancing, especially for a bowler. Can train longer, more effectively and recover more. Imagine reducing your injury worries by an order of magnitude. You can train more, focus on developing more bounce, or more swing, perhaps better accuracy for another hour a day. That would definitely be performance enhancing. It looks a little to me like your thinking on “performance enhancing” is “magic bullet”, perhaps like taking amphetamines before a race.

    As to why I sometimes wish I’d never been born – one particular morning I had, after rowing 25k, sitting at work with my hands ripped to shreds and trying very hard not to fall asleep, with the knowledge that I’ve got another 16k and weights after work – were enough to make me wish that I’d never been born. Of course, once the hands healed up, it was fine…

    Adam: I know Warne wasn’t busted for steroids. I was attempting to make the point in my ham-fisted way that the one of the reasons that diuretics are banned was that they can act as a masking agent for steroids. One of the original cases on this was the near-disqualification of Pedro Delgado, the Spaniard who won the 1988 Tour de France.

    Ahh, enough. I might have to switch to camomile tea. And I’ll be forced to owe you both a beer if ever I get to Perth.

  7. Hammy Says:

    Pakistan is the new East Germany, perhaps.

  8. AT Says:

    I don’t think the Pakistanis are into systematic cheating. The response from the PCB was completely ad hoc, and their reasoning wasn’t fantastic. Would suggest to me that it wasn’t terribly planned or systematic.

  9. yobbo Says:

    Systematic perhaps not – but the desired outcome (for the Pakis) was reached so who cares?

  10. AT Says:

    Oh, I agree. An ad hoc response is often just as effective, but it’s hardly an indicator of a vast, state-backed doping program.

    I need to stop taking things so literally.

  11. yobbo Says:

    State backed doping no. Constant cheating, yes.

  12. AT Says:

    I don’t think that there’s any dissent that they’re a bunch of cheating, whinging c@#t$.

    Having said that, I think the same’s true of Shane Warne, at least the whinging c@#$ bit.


Leave a Reply

