Ni Hao

This is apparently my name in Chinese. I thought it would be a lot shorter, only being 2 syllables and all.

wardychinese.jpg

Explore posts in the same categories: Personal, Pictures

14 Comments on “Ni Hao”

  1. Kristian Says:

    The first 2 characters mean “handsome” 🙂

  2. yobbo Says:

    OK I’ll admit that I knew that, was waiting for someone else to say it for me. The last 4 are my name though, apparently.

  3. AD Says:

    My chines neighbour just lauged and giggled when I showed it to her, I think she was too embarassed to translate it !!!!!!

  4. hc Says:

    You’re an international media tart Yobbo. Shameless self-promotion.

  5. conrad Says:

    I think the first 5 characters are shuai-gao-shan-mu-cao if I remember correctly. I can’t remember the 6th. THe morphemes (which might not have anything to do with the words — I stopped learning Mandarin years ago) are tall-handsome-mountain-something female – probably something to do with grass.

    Heres my guess of the tranlsation:

    You are a good looking, tall and solid guy who works in the great outdoors . The girls would love you except you are too effiminant, and possibly heterosexually challenged.


  6. Handsome?

    Just shows there’s misleading advertising in all languages.

  7. Steve Says:

    What about this in Kanji/Hiragana?

    共産主義の殺害者

  8. yobbo Says:

    Steve, nobody can read that unless they have Chinese characters installed. You need to make it a .gif file.

  9. Steve Says:

    Sorry, but .gif is getting too technical…..
    it translates to Communist Slayer

    why doesn’t everyone have Asian fonts installed?

  10. yobbo Says:

    Because most of us have pirate versions of Windows XP I’m guessing.

  11. Patrick Says:

    Yeah but our pirate XP comes from China.

    I only recognized Shan (mountain), I clearly need more study.

  12. Eric Says:

    師歌山姆華德 [or 师歌山姆华德 in simplified characters]

    The last four characters are pronounced Shanmu Huade (in Mandarin)

    Shan – hill, mountain.
    Mu – various meanings, such as what, why, uh-huh; but main meaning is governess or matron.

    Shanmu has no meaning; it’s just two characters that approximate the sound of Sam.

    Hua – brilliant, prosperous; but it’s also the character for China.
    De – virtue, heart or kindness; first character for Germany (Deguo).

    Huade has no meaning – it sounds like Ward.

    I don’t know where you got this name, but if it’s from a human and not an Internet site then you should go and biff them. It’s stupid. But it sounds pretty close to Sam Ward to native Mandarin speakers.

  13. yobbo Says:

    I got it from a Taiwanese Mandarin speaker, maybe that’s why it sounds different? Don’t ask me.


Leave a Reply

