Blog Logins Are The Worst Idea Ever

I’m back.

Since pretty much every blog in Australia nowadays requires you to log in to post comments – or has me on permanent moderation – my discussions will now take place here. Much as I understand the desire to stop spam in comments, I can’t remember 100 different username/password combinations and have therefore given up trying to comment at blogs like Catallaxy that require it.

So what’s been happening in Blog Land while I was away?

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogging

9 Comments on “Blog Logins Are The Worst Idea Ever”

  1. Joseph Clark Says:

    I thought this blog was dead. Welcome back.

  2. crypto the wonder hound Says:

    You could have a system for your passwords which applies at each site. E.g. for blogs you like it’s “blognamerules”, for blogs you don’t like it’s “blognameblows”.

  3. Tim Quilty Says:

    Or, like everyone else in the world, you could use the same password for every blog…

  4. Yobbo Says:

    The problem is that all these different login systems have different rules about what is a valid passport, and I end up having to change it by 1 or 2 characters each time, which means I can never remember which version of my password is the correct one.

    It does my head in.

  5. hc Says:

    Welcome back. I am the same – I get lost in the passwords – not only for blogs but for every dicky little group.

  6. Eames Chair Says:

    You should use a password storage application. That way all your passwords are centralized. Works well for me..


  7. “So what’s been happening in Blog Land while I was away?”

    In a word… spam.

  8. Peter Deane Says:

    Gee, you can comment on my blog any day without having to login and use a password! (Hint, Hint, Shameless plug), etc. See http://bustopher.blogspot.com, or just click on my name


  9. If you’re saying something political… do it at the ALS blog. We don’t require permission, and only two people are on moderation.


Leave a Reply

